Refine Search

Zappa mushing for Bristol Bay of seven Iditarod participants from the Kenai Peninsula. Seward's Mitch Seavey won the Iditarod in 2004, while Travis Beals of Seward and Gus Guenther from Clam Gulch are signed up to race. Zappa is one of four representing Kasilof. Paul...
Six Peninsula mushers to tackle Iditarod

...will be joined by fellow Peninsula mushers Kristy and Anna Berington, both of Kasilof, Matt Giblin of Sterling and Travis Beals, of Seward, a rookie. Seavey, who won this year's Tustumena 200 Sled Dog Race in early February, won the Iditarod...
Sports Briefs

...Strausbaugh (28:19) and Amelia McDonnell (34:34). In the six-dog trek, Garnet crossed in 59:51, ahead of Travis Beals (1:00:03), Will Morrow (1:04:23) and Laurie Cramer (1:09:43). Robertia easily won the 10-dog competition...
Mitch by miles: Sterling's Seavey wins warmer T200 in descending order were Seavey, Redington, King, Paul Gebhardt, Wade Marrs, Ken Anderson, Ellen Donoghue, Travis Beals, Kristy Berington, Robert Bundtzen and Roger Johnson. *Editors Note: This story has been amended to reflect the...
Freddie's Roadhouse wraps up busy weekend

...Award, Gus Guenther received the Sportsmanship Award, Travis Beals received the halfway checkpoint win, and the sprint...Guenther, 11:28; 6. MyDzung Osmar, 11:41; 7. Travis Beals, 11:47; 8. Aaron Kershner, 12:26; 9. Jason...
2007 Mount Marathon results

...6; 65. Lawrence Agosti, 43:50.1; 66. Dylan Atkinson, 43:59.4; 67. Mack Lincoln, 44:26.1; 68. Travis Beals, 45:07.5; 69. Keegan Crow, 45:16.0 ;70. Garrett Berg, 45:34.2 ;71. Arthur Jarrett, 46:12.5...
DeeDee takes the T: Jonrowe adds Tustumena 200 championship to resume

...Merissa Osmar, 10:08; 3. Elaine Martin, 10:11; 4. Gus Guenther, 10:20; 5. John Solem, 10:31; 6. Travis Beals, 10:51; 7. Lindsay Seidenverg, 11:00; 8. Monica Zappa, 12:29; 9. Aaron Kershner, 14:08; 10. Shameka...
Leaders of the pack: A look at the fine of 2009

...Osmar, founder of the T-200, won the 100-mile race. Bruce Linton took second and Cain Carter finished third. Travis Beals won the Junior T, followed by Rebekah Ruzicka in second and Merissa Osmar in third. Baseball The Homer baseball team...
Another reason to love Alaska: Winter Games

...from the Kenai Peninsula Fawn Wilson of Sterling, Rebekah Ruzicka of Anchor Point, Merissa Osmar of Clam Gulch and Travis Beals of Seward. If you've never been to the race start, here's your chance to step up to the line and cheer on those...
Comeback king strikes again

...claimed the 50-mile Junior T, sprinting across the finish line at 8:03 p.m. Saturday, barely edging Seward's Travis Beals, who finished two minutes later. Clam Gulch musher Merissa Osmar, who captured last year's Junior T crown, placed...


  • 150 Trading Bay Rd, Kenai, AK 99611
  • Switchboard: 907-283-7551
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-283-3584
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Business Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-335-1257
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback