Refine Search

Super Bowl XLIX: Why the Seahawks will win

...60s. The Steel Curtain defense led the Pittsburgh Steelers to four championships in the 70s. Current G-O-A-T, Joe Montana, led the 49ers to glory in the 80s. The Triplets (Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith and Michael Irvin) won three Super...
After picking Pats every week this season, there's no reason to stop now

...starter in the postseason with rings on four of his magical fingers also would vault the 30-year-old Brady past Joe Montana and Terry Bradshaw as the greatest quarterback of all time. Humble as ever, the baby-faced icon put things in perspective...
NFL quarterbacks no longer exclusively in first round

...overall pick, and Mirer was second. Bledsoe made it big; Mirer is a career backup who's never approached ''the next Joe Montana'' tag applied to him a decade ago. In 1998, the Colts took Peyton Manning No. 1, and Leaf went second to the Chargers...
49ers choose Smith No. 1

...was considered the quarterback with the best chance to become a star, fitting for a team that had Hall of Famers Joe Montana and Steve Young but slipped to 2-14 last year. He was the fifth straight quarterback taken with the first pick...
Rice calls an end to a sterling career

...debate, and nobody can accuse Shanahan of overstating it. Rice led the 49ers to three Super Bowl titles and helped make Joe Montana and Steve Young look great. He mastered the West Coast offense and made a career of turning short catches into long...
Pigskin Pick 'Em

...weapon on his side. With Moss on the field, drawing double teams more often than not, Brady is truly living up to the Joe Montana-billing he's so graciously been given over the years. Having completed 70-of-88 passes that's only six incompletions...
Hasselbeck wants the ball and will score; just not enough

...this year, they're arguably the greatest tandem of quarterback and receiver in NFL history. And yes, that includes Joe Montana and Jerry Rice. Montana won four Super Bowls and three Super Bowl MVP awards. Brady is well on his way to matching...
Faulk voted NFL Player of the Year

...broadcasters. Since the award's inception in 1989, Faulk is the third player to win in consecutive years, joining Joe Montana (1989-90) and Favre (1995-96). ''Who would have thought that not only would I get an opportunity to play...


  • 150 Trading Bay Rd, Kenai, AK 99611
  • Switchboard: 907-283-7551
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-283-3584
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Business Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-335-1257
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback