Refine Search

Three more sign for 2001 Quest

...the Yukon Quest International Sled Dog Race has grown to 32 entrants with the addition of two rookies and a veteran. Cim Smyth of Big Lake and rookies Sarka Meyer of Salcha and Keli Mahoney of Talkeetna mailed their entries Oct. 31. They'll...
King wins T-200

...37 minutes ahead of runner-up and defending champion Cim Smyth of Big Lake. "The field was loaded and I just brought...Iditarod. Top 10 finishers T-200 1. Jeff King 2. Cim Smyth 3. DeeDee Jonrowe 4. Micah Degerlund 5. Scott Smith...
Mushers continue to finish Quest

...north of Whitehorse. As of late Thursday morning, nine mushers had finished the 1,000-mile race from Fairbanks. Cim Smyth was the first musher in Thursday morning, claiming seventh place. He crossed the finish line at 4:43 a.m. with...
Gebhardt leads area mushers at Kusko 300 finishing at 9:18 a.m. Sunday, while nine-time Kusko champion Jeff King was right behind at 9:25 a.m.Cim Smyth took third by finishing at 10:55 a.m., while Gebhardt finished fourth at 11 a.m.Kasilof's Kristy Berington...
Cheer for champions and challengers

...there's no denying the "cult of celebrity" facet of our culture, and mushers like Lance Mackey, Jeff King and Cim Smyth deserve recognition for their accomplishments. But so too do the other mushers who haven't yet, or possible never...
Homer T-200 checkpoint a success thanks to support

...Snomads, support outdoor activities and promote access to public land. To say the least, the T-200 was a blast with Cim Smyth taking first place; our Homer checkpoint was a great success with many volunteers and spectators showing up to see the...
It's all coming together for Tustumena 200

...teams and the Jr. T has six. In the 200-mile race, the field includes several past T-200 champions, including Cim Smyth, the 2004 and defending champ; his brother Ramey Smyth, the 1998, '99 and 2002 champ; Lance Mackey, the 2008 champ...
Sled dog race results

The following are standings for the top 10 racers. T-200 1. Cim Smyth 2. Lance Mackey 3. Jon Little 4. Pete Kaiser 5. Ken Anderson 6. Robert Bundtzen 7. Jessica Hendricks 8. Gerald Riley 9...
Tustumena Sled Dog Race hits the trail

...small stature and flamboyant pink equipment. As of press time Saturday night, Jonrowe was leading the race, ahead of Cim Smyth, Mike Santos, Gary Van Loo and Colleen Robertia. Paul Gebhardt led the T-100 into the Caribou Lake checkpoint, and...
T-200 off and running

...things," he said. The T-200's defending champion, Ramey Smyth, couldn't make it this year, but his brother Cim Smyth came to compete. Although numerous people asked him if he felt he had big shoes to fill, Smyth said he wasn't there...


  • 150 Trading Bay Rd, Kenai, AK 99611
  • Switchboard: 907-283-7551
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-283-3584
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Business Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-335-1257
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback