Refine Search

Michaela Hutchison's historic wrestling title makes Alaska Sports Hall of Fame Bird Ridge (beating the men's winner by more than a minute) and she shared the Crow Pass overall victory with Bill Spencer, a Hall of Fame member since 2012. Pease and Spencer that summer finished the Crow Pass Crossing in 3 hours, 26 minutes...
Allie Ostrander beats all the boys in junior Mount Marathon race

...his third victory in the men's race in the past four years. Last year, Anchorage's Strabel ran 42:55 to strike Bill Spencer's iconic 43:21 from the record book. This year, Strabel ran 44:46 to top runner-up Matias Saari of Anchorage...
Ostrander seeks another record at Mount Marathon

...The defending men's champion is Palmer's Eric Strabel, who shocked the mountain-running community by breaking Bill Spencer's long-standing course record last year with a time of 42:55. Spencer's mark of 43:21 was set in 1981. Strabel...
Ostrander collects another junior title; Strabel breaks men's record

...Thursday in 42 minutes, 55 seconds. That bests the previous and iconic record of 43:21 set by eight-time champion Bill Spencer in 1981 on the 3,022-foot peak. Amazingly, Strabel was not the only one to break the men's record Thursday in...
Lost Lake race founder's presence still felt

...year's winner Eric Strabel finished at 1:38:33 and he has been burning up one mountain after another all summer long, including his big win at Mt. Marathon on July 4 that wiped Bill Spencer's 32-year-old mark off the table.
Mount Marathon makes changes to enhance safety the women's race in a time of 51:53.While the course record for the men's race hasn't been broken since Bill Spencer delivered a blistering 43:21 performance in 1981, and Nancy Pease put up a 50:30 in 1990 in the women's race...
Whether on a mountain or on the ice, Deal doesn't shy from punishment of the oldest footraces in the country, and it attracts the elite athletes from around the state. Last summer, Bill Spencer's 32-year-old legendary men's course record was finally broken by Anchorage's Eric Strabel and California's...
Prepare to get up and down Mount Marathon Years later I would watch Bill Spencer set the record in the senior race...One summer day in Seward I saw Bill Spencer biking around town on a one-speed...watched the Mount Marathon Race Bill Spencer was running the junior race for...
Ostrander, Knotek take Mount Marathon junior titles

...Miles Knotek of Moose Pass won the boys race at 26:18. The 16-year-old was short of the record 24:34 that Bill Spencer set in 1973. Knotek beat runner-up Lyon Kopsack of Palmer by 80 seconds.In the men's race, Soldotna High School...
2007 Mount Marathon results

...50. Dan Marshall, 56:48.6. 51. Karl Romig, 56:54.7; 52. Ivan Chikigak-steadman, 57:11.3; 53. Bill Spencer, 57:12.5; 54. Will Ross, 57:34.8; 55. Kris D'Alessandro, 57:45.5 ; 56. Ryan Beckett, 57:53...


  • 150 Trading Bay Rd, Kenai, AK 99611
  • Switchboard: 907-283-7551
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-283-3584
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Business Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-335-1257
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback