Refine Search

Mount Marathon results

...Christy Marvin, Palmer 52:59 4. Najeeby Quinn, Anchorage 55:34 5. Denali Foldager-Strab, Seward 56:17 6. Aubrey Smith, Seward 57:08 7. Rachel Dow, SEWARD 59:44 8. Heidi Doner, Palmer 59:46 9. Lydia Blanchet, Anchorage 1...
Forsberg, Jornet rewrite Mount Marathon record book; Ostrander dazzles in debut

...of Ostrander. Boonstra is now the second fastest junior girl in history, with her time of 32:38 moving her past Aubrey Smith's 33:01. Last year, Boonstra ran 37:55. "She's a big influence," Boonstra said of Ostrander. "She always...
Peninsula runners eyeing state glory

...finishers crossed the line, a group photo was taken in the finishing area of all Seward residents, including such names as Aubrey Smith, Allison Barnwell, Denali Foldager and Sarah Glaser. "They were all Seward women," Marshall said. "Some are...
Allie Ostrander beats all the boys in junior Mount Marathon race

...5. Allison Barnwell, Seward, 57:50. Other Peninsula finishers 6. Taylor Ostrander, Soldotna, 58:17; 8. Aubrey Smith, Seward, 59:41; 9. Karol Fink, Seward, 1:00:58; 10. Rachel Dow, Seward, 1:02:13; 11. Sarah Glaser...
Ostrander seeks another record at Mount Marathon

...she ran in 2011. Before Ostrander's string of dominance, the girls course record was 33:01, set by Seward's Aubrey Smith in 1997. Ostrander has since eclipsed Smith's mark four years in a row. "It definitely has significance to me...
Kenai Central's Ostrander wins junior girls Mount Marathon

...She set the age-group record in the 15- to 17-year-old division. By taking 11 seconds off the 1997 record of Aubrey Smith, Ostrander took possession of all three girls age-group records. Miles Knotek, 17, also repeated in the boys junior...
Sports Briefs

...Soldotna's Allie Ostrander, 13, won the junior girls race on Mount Marathon on Sunday, shattering the 1997 record of Aubrey Smith. Ostrander defended her title in the race halfway up and down the 3,022-foot mountain in 31 minutes, 15 seconds...
2007 Mount Marathon results

...21.2; 2. Nicole De Yong, 57:13.3; 3. Kikkan Randall, 57:34.9; 4. Teresa Brady, 58:42.1; 5. Aubrey Smith, 59:41.9; 6. Leah Besh, 1:00:51.5; 7. Rachel James, 1:01:30.9; 8. Karol Fink, 1:02:11...
Ostrander takes aim at Mt. Marathon

...that she owns the top two junior girls course record times. In 2010, she smashed the old record, held by Seward's Aubrey Smith (33 minutes, 1 second), to win in 31:15. Then, last year, she broke her own record to win in 30:32. "I...
Prep skiers hope for final kick at state meet

...weekend's races will enjoy cookies bought by the losing team. "We're throwing down the gauntlet," Swanson said. Aubrey Smith, a Wasilla coach, is a former Seward resident and athlete, and Swanson said the competition keeps up the effort levels...


  • 150 Trading Bay Rd, Kenai, AK 99611
  • Switchboard: 907-283-7551
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-283-3584
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Business Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-335-1257
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback